Jim Thorpe Courage Award

The INTEGRIS Jim Thorpe Rehabilitation Courage Award was established in 1994 to recognize and honor individuals who have overcome disabilities caused by injury or illness, by facing the physical and mental challenges of rehabilitation with courage and determination.

The awards are named after the man known as the World's Greatest Athlete. Jim Thorpe, a Sac and Fox Indian he won gold medals in the 1912 Olympic games in Stockholm, Sweden, in the pentathlon and decathlon events. Those medals were confiscated in 1913 on the grounds that Thorpe had been a professional athlete. The medals were presented again to the Thorpe family in 1983.

Thorpe went on to establish a career in professional football, and was a founding father of the National Football League.

The Courage Award is presented annually.  

Meet the 2016 INTEGRIS Jim Thorpe Rehabilitation Courage Award Recipients

Carlos Dominguez

In April 2013, a driver under the influence of drugs changed Carlos’ life in an instant. He was paralyzed in a car accident that was no fault of his own.

Sue Baney-Stull

In August 2014, Sue developed sepsis from a viral infection. At one point, she was so ill doctors thought she would not survive. Both her legs and arms were amputated in order to save her life.

Lorece “Jo” Rogers

In July 2015, Jo went hiking with her husband. She contracted Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever through a tick bite and ultimately went into septic shock. Her organs were failing. To stop the infection and save her life, doctors amputated all four of her limbs.

Past Courage Award Recipients

© 2017 INTEGRIS Health Pencil
Oklahoma's largest hospital network
3300 N.W. Expressway
Oklahoma City, OK 73112 Phone: (405) 951-2277
Back to Top